One of the highlights of my week is story & checkout time with our Pre-Kindergarten class. Since the role of a librarian has changed so much over the past few years, I actually don’t get many opportunities to read to children – instead I’m teaching technology & research skills most of the time. I love that I get to share the love of books and reading with our most impressionable group especially since the majority of them have never been to a library before coming to school. However, because my school has a high English Language Learner population, finding a great book can sometimes be difficult. Our Pre-K is full of students who barely understand English so I always want the text to be very simple yet still very engaging. So I was delighted to discover that Moo! by David LaRochelle (published in the Fall of 2013) has VERY simple language & is extremely engaging. In fact as soon as I finished reading it the class ebrupted into applause and shouted “again, again, again!”

moo

Moo! has only two words, “moo” and a surprise word at the end. The book tells the tale of a cow who “borrows” a farmers car and takes it on a joy ride. The tone and inflection in which you read the moo’s on each page really make the story. Even I couldn’t help but laugh as I read it. The Pre-K kids were especially thrilled when I told them they could read it with me the second time around – “imagine that! You can read a book,” I told them.

Not only is Moo! the perfect read aloud for the youngest students in your school, but I also plan to read it to a third grade class full of reluctant readers whom I’ve been visiting each week to share new books with. I really think they will get a kick out of it, too. Oh and I’m totally checking it out and reading it to my 14 month old son tonight. But don’t worry, I won’t let him touch the pages 😉

